The Procuratie, Venice
The Procuratie are located in St. Mark's Square, Venice. It housed the administration of Venice. The old Procuracies was built in the 12th century, but after a fire in the 16th century it was renovated. The New Procuracies was started in 1586 by Vicenza Scamozi and completed by Longhen in 1640. Between the New and Old Procuracies there was a small church, which was destroyed by order of Napoleon in 1810. In its place was built the Napoleonic Palace, which connects the Procuratie.