The island of La Palma, together with the islands of El Hierro and La Gomera, belongs to the province of Santa Cruz de Tenerife. It is one of the most forested islands of the Canary Islands archipelago. Pine forests and Laurisilva predominate, and of the agricultural crops, Canary bananas and grapes grow best. According to some claims, it is the highest island on earth. The largest astrophysical observatory in the Northern Hemisphere is located on the territory of La Palma - namely on the Roque de los Muchachos peak.
The old name of the island is San Miguel de la Palma, as the capital of the island is called today. Santa Cruz de la Palma was a very important port in the past, which today attracts with its preserved beautiful coastal district dotted with Renaissance buildings and picturesque houses. The Church of El Salvador deserves attention, as well as the charming Plaza Santo Domingo.
La Palma is impressive with its peaceful and rural tourism oriented life. Immersed in greenery, the island of La Palma has two resorts - Los Canjajos, perched on the east coast, and Puerto Naos, whose black sand stretches along the sunny west coast. The area of ​​La Palma of 706 sq. km. is dotted with a network of craters and volcanic cones, ending at Volcan Tenegia, which last erupted in 1971.
On the territory of La Palma is the Caldera de Taburiente National Park, with the highest point, Roque de los Muchachos, which is 2,426 m high. In 2002, the island was declared a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve.

Rating 5 from 1 voted La Palma, Spain